Call us: (866) 215-9248
Massachusetts Supreme Court Amends Civil Procedure For Electronically Stored Information

SJC Approves Amendments to Rules of Civil Procedure Addressing Discovery of Electronically Stored Information 

The Supreme Judicial Court announces amendments to the Massachusetts Rules of Civil Procedure that address the discovery of electronically stored information (ESI).  Rules 16, 26, 34, 37 and 45 have been amended effective January 1, 2014.

Delete button

Delete button

The changes were recommended by the Court’s Standing Advisory Committee on the Rules of Civil Procedure in response to the increasing growth of information in electronic form.  In drafting the amendments, the committee drew on the 2006 amendments to the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure addressing ESI and the 2007 Uniform Rules relating to the discovery of Electronically Stored Information.

As stated in the Reporter’s Notes, a major focus of the committee was to establish procedures to:  deal with ESI early in the litigation; address how to handle ESI that may be inaccessible; address how to handle inadvertently disclosed privileged ESI; and provide protection when ESI is lost through the good faith operation of electronic information systems.  The new rules will apply in all courts and proceedings governed by the Massachusetts Rules of Civil Procedure. 

By  Nicosia & Associates, P.C. Attorneys at Law


About the Author

Peter Nicosia
The law firm of Nicosia & Associates, P.C. serves Merrimack Valley businesses, families and individuals for Business Law, Construction Law, Real Estate Law, Condominium Law, Civil Litigation, Estate Planning, Municipal, Law and Personal Injury Law in Massachusetts and New Hampshire, including such communities as Lowell MA Chelmsford MA, Tewksbury MA, Methuen MA, Dracut MA, Dunstable MA, Townsend MA, Pepperell MA, Tyngsboro MA, Westford MA, Acton MA, Littleton MA, Concord MA, Carlisle MA, Lawrence MA, Groton MA, Haverhill MA, Andover MA, North Andover MA, Billerica MA, Worcester MA, Burlington MA, Wilmington MA, Nashua NH, Pelham NH, Hudson, NH Salem NH, Manchester NH Middlesex County, Essex County, Suffolk County, Hillsborough County, Merrimack County, Belknap County and Rockingham County, Worcester MA and Boston MA.